Today, I’ve got butterflies in my stomach… what about you?

Teehee… here’s a topic that we don’t mention much, but we do have a section up there (^^ feel free to browse our blog topics using our menu up top) .. what about a little more romantic aspects of our lives? Well, I certainly am lacking in that department at the moment. I’ll let the other -arkies speak for themselves.

Image via whicdn.com

Kicking off this love/relationship series, I’m starting to get butterflies in my stomach! It’s a feeling that I’ve come to both like and dislike. My mind is a whirlwind (tornado) of thoughts: Eye contact.. no eye contact… cheeks are feeling a little warm…. ehhhhhh…. let me run away… RAWR! From a more scientific perspective, the butterflies happen due to a reduction of blood flow to the stomach. The blood is, literally, getting stolen by my HEART! Heart racing, increased blood pressure? All part of it. Welp, there you have it. I was wondering why my heart started racing a little when I saw someone. 🙂 Maybe I should have pulled out my blood pressure kit (yep, I come prepared) and checked my blood pressure right then and there. Have you had this feeling lately? Is it something you enjoy? Or would you rather just skip this entire part of courtship (or lack-of courtship in my case)? hehe

That fluttery feeling that you feel in your stomach at the sight of a new love or sight of, let’s say, Anderson Cooper/Joseph Gordon-Levitt/Wang Leehom/[insert name] … is caused by the release of adrenaline in the fight-or-flight response!

Interested in learning more? Here’s an article from a while ago that I remember reading.

2 thoughts on “Today, I’ve got butterflies in my stomach… what about you?

  1. Well having been in my current relationship for 6 years it’s been a long time since I felt butterflies. I rather enjoy the “chase” so butterflies were a welcomed feeling for me in my single days.

Leave a comment, tell us what you like, ask us a question! :) Thanks!

