Today, I reflect on the first year of Today Comma I.

I believe I am the last of the -arkies to reflect on our anniversary, so please excuse me for being late with this post. This past year has been so filled with unexpected twists and turns! Life after college is not at all what I expected it to be, but I already feel much wiser to the world. I have a little bit more insight into life and a clearer vision of where I want to be in five or ten years, and I am grateful for it.

Last August, we started this blog because our lives after Duke took us to disparate corners of the world. From Philadelphia to Budapest, to be exact! I was in a remote island of Hawaii when the other three -arkies started this blog, but they used the nicknames that I gave to them in college to preserve their secret identities. (Funny story, I first nicknamed Charlotte “Charkbait” after the funny scene in Finding Nemo where the other fish in the aquarium christen Nemo “Sharkbait.” I shortened it to Charkie, and she started calling me Arkie soon after. That was how these names were born.)

Once upon a time, we gathered in Charkie’s dorm room every night to recap news, do our homework, philosophize, and order in takeout. I must add that it would take us at least 30 minutes to decide on where to order. Because Charkie kept the cupboard in the corner of her room stocked with coffee and chai, we had no lack of caffeine to keep us working late into the night. No matter how stressed I was in college about classes or my career plans, I always had the comfort of these familiar faces and this familiar routine to come back to at night, and every day I had at Duke ended up being a great day.

Image

Charkie Hosts Arkie’s 19th Birthday

Those moments, though treasured, are gone forever, but this blog has kept us connected over shared interests. This past year, this blog has documented our cooking experiments, has followed us on nights out, been the reservoir for stress about exams, and even captured our excitement about the royal baby, haha! Anyway, I’ve really enjoyed being able to document life after graduation, and I have my fingers crossed that we’ll have tons of great stories to share in the coming years.

2 thoughts on “Today, I reflect on the first year of Today Comma I.

  1. That photo!! I sometimes wonder what it would be like if the size of the Few dorm room had been like Pegram’s. — maybe I would’ve hosted frat parties 🙂 but I think the tighter quarters brought us closer, too.

    30 minutes at LEAST, usually by the time you had already eaten a Bulkogi level 5 “send me to the burn unit” meal.

    • Haha! Yes, that room was amazing. I remember Tonjia saying that you could hear the train, though. But still, oh, the memories. Remember the people who lived above you who did P90X or whatever that workout program was?

      BULKOGI!!! Be still, my heart.

Leave a comment, tell us what you like, ask us a question! :) Thanks!

