Today, I will reunite with the fam!

Sadly, we had a death in the family and my mom had to go to Haiti last week and my dad stayed an extra week and a half to be with her there. My great-aunt (and my sister’s middle-namesake) Ines raised my mom and made her into the woman she is today. I’m glad to have been able to spend time with her on a few occasions and hope to carry on some of the strength she exhibited in her lifetime! I’m also glad that my parents were able to be there with other family members and give her a proper send off.

As for today, THEY’RE COMING BACK! I’m pretty excited 🙂 My mom’s birthday is this weekend and my sister is moving to LA in a few days so this will be the last time in a long time that we’ll all be able to spend time together. So in honor of all that, I WILL BE BAKING AND CLEANING ALL DAY LONG. I’m a fan of leaving things the way they were left for me. So, I must do some cleaning. I’ll do that while I wait for all my respective doughs to rise.

I’ll be baking two loaves of Challah bread. I’m trying a different recipe than  I did the last time and I’ll be using fully active yeast (I think my yeast was tired last time) so hopefully these loaves will be a success! I’ll also be making carrot cake cupcakes from scratch! I’m a little more nervous about this…but I’m also excited to try it! If they don’t work, I’ll know for next time.

I’ll try to post some yummy pictures of the process and finished product tomorrow! And if the recipes work like I want them to, I’ll post the recipe…because if I can do it, anyone can do it (novice baker over here)!

Tenha um bom dia, tudo!

One thought on “Today, I will reunite with the fam!

  1. I’m sorry to hear about your great-aunt, and I hope her legacy lives on in all of you!

    Looking forward to seeing the breads of your labor. Challah!

Leave a comment, tell us what you like, ask us a question! :) Thanks!

