Today, I am regrouping.

Charkie is trying to brainwash us into swooning over Simon van Booy (it’s really not that hard, though) so I’m listening to his radio interview as I write this post. His new book is called The Illusion of Separateness. Plug of the day.

Anyway, this weekend was a good one (and it seems the other arkies had good weekends too!) I got to see a friend that has just spent the year traveling around the whole world–11 countries in 11 months–and it was great to talk to her and another good friend about culture and culture shock and race, religion, ethics, etc across the world. And we talked about the usual stuff like weddings and babies and whatever else it is 20-somethings are talking about these days. I haven’t sat down for a good chat in a while (with the exception of talking to jarkie on the train last weekend) so this was really nice. And we went to this place called Cocoa Cinnamon in Durham which sells stuff like drinking chocolate and other things people flock for. I had the Middle Eastern Iced Coffee. After the lovely afternoon, I went to visit another friend who has just come back from Atlanta and I slept over. Her adorable almost-4-years-old nephew was an endless source of energy and we all stayed up pretty late. I can’t do these late nights anymore, y’all. I’m getting too old for them!

Now, as my title suggests, I am beginning the process of regrouping. Remember that job interview I mentioned a couple weeks ago? Well, even though the interview went really well, I didn’t get the job. I was kinda bummed but I guess I’m in the “everything happens for a reason” camp and I need to positively look forward to what is coming in the future instead of dwelling on what has gone in the past.

*Side note: I get these “morning mantra/thought of the day” emails and today’s quote is from Michael Jordan.

“I’ve missed more than 9000 shots in my career. I’ve lost almost 300 games. 26 times I’ve been trusted to take the game winning shot and missed. I’ve failed over and over and over again in my life. And that’s why I succeed.”

I’ll take that to heart. Onward and upward I go!

(back to svb) I wish my separateness was just an illusion. I’m in the phase of missing people now. I mean, I always miss people but most times, I just put it out of my mind. But there have been so many nostalgic moments in the past few weeks…perhaps I’m still in the stage of life where my happy memories are still accompanied by longing to go back there. But does that ever go away? Hmmm…

Have a good day, all! I hope you find yourselves in positive spaces today 🙂

p.s. if anyone is interested, and I know you are, Chelsea won their first game of the season with B-E-A-UTIFUL goals by Oscar and Lampsy. Madrid also won, making this a rather successful weekend all around!

Enhanced by Zemanta
6 thoughts on “Today, I am regrouping.

    • She’s got me so brainwashed… that I forgot to comment on the rest of your blog…. I like your positiveness there, and Jordan’s quote is perfect!
      I’m definitely starting to miss people too… as people keep on popping up in my life, I realize how much I miss people and times!!
      Looks like you had a fun weekend 🙂

      • YOU’RE WELCOME for enriching your lives!

        Isn’t that interview just 40 minutes of bliss?! I’m so happy you listened to it 😀

        Also- is it really the start of football season? Not to complain at all but I thought it just ended .,.?

        MJ – wise man, despite his alma mater. Thanks for reminding us of that quote! Also- “Success is going from failure to failure without losing enthusiasm” – Churchill 🙂 keep on keeping on!

        Middle eastern Iced coffee? Was ist das? You’re such a durhamite.

        Love you, miss you, try not to age too quickly.

        • Are you serious, char?!?! IT HAS BEEN TOO LONG SINCE THE SEASON ENDED!
          I like his voice because you can kind of hear his emotions when he speaks. His voice has such character on its own, it doesn’t really matter what he’s saying. Yeah the rare carolina grad can come up with something good…sometimes. I like that Churchill quote too!

          Middle eastern iced coffee–the caf was brewed with rose petals and cardamom and something else…I couldn’t taste it that much. I wonder what it would be like to make coffee and then in your cup add the rose petals and the cardamom. The flavors would come through better, I’m sure!

  1. Pingback: Today, I consider the Takeaway: 5 Things I Learned this Summer | todaycommai

Leave a comment, tell us what you like, ask us a question! :) Thanks!

