Today, I enjoy solitude at the country french cafe & bring you recipe for Rice Bowls (donburi issue)….

Country French Breakfast

Breakfast

I love being with people. But I also love being alone. I love socializing. I also love going to restaurants, cafe’s, movies alone. Just add an iPad/Laptop or a great read in my purse and off I go! So that brings me to where I am now: La Madeleine Country French Cafe. One thing I love about them? Their wonderful selection of Baroque music. Wanna learn French? Just hop over to the ladies room and you can learn your Bonjour, Je m’appelle [insert your name]…, oui, merci beaucoup and all that jazz. My favorite is sitting here sipping my coffee and having some toast with jam & butter. Oh what a life :]

This past Thursday, I said goodbye to a friend over at When Babel Fell.  She is starting a new journey in Japan… and I, of course, wish her the best of luck! I must also thank her because she took me to a local Japanese restaurant (Matuba Japanese Restaurant) where I realized my fascination for Donburi, or rice bowls!

photo 2 (27) photo 3 (25)

I ordered the Katsudon and Gyoza. So delicious. I have decided to try to perfect my Katsudon-making skills. And so here’s mineeeeee.

Katsudon/Katsu Donburi [Pork Cutlet Rice Bowl]

photo 4 (23)

What you’ll need:

  • Pork chops – boneless
  • Flour
  • Panko
  • Egg – 2
  • Rice- I like using sushi rice
  • Dashi
  • Mirin
  • Miso
  • Soysauce – a little dash
  • Salt & Pepper
  • Vegetable oil
  • Onions (Red or Yellow)
  • Green Onions/Scallions
Katsudon!

Katsudon!

  1. Cook your rice in the rice cooker 🙂
  2. Take the pork chops and make little shallow vertical slices up top
  3. Sprinkle salt and pepper and dredge with flour
  4. Crack and egg in a bowl and dip the pork chops in the egg and then into panko.
  5. Lightly fry in a pan with vegetable oil
  6. Take out of pan, cut pork up into slices and set aside
  7. Sautee onions and some of the scallions in vegetable oil
  8. Place your pork cutlets into the middle of the pan
  9. Pour in mirin, dashi (just a little sprinkle), soy sauce (the tiniest dash you can think of), a little bit of chicken broth or water, miso and bring to a boil. Turn heat down to low/medium setting
  10. Crack the second into the remainder of the egg (from making the pork cutlets)… beat lightly, not all the way. Make sure the egg whites and yolk are not quite mixed
  11. Pour egg mixture gently over the pork cutlet/onions (distribute evening)
  12. Cover pan with a lid and let egg cook… when it seems almost done, turn off stove, remove pan from heat
  13. Take a bowl of cooked rice and lightly scoop out your pork/egg mix – place on top of rice
  14. Pour rest of broth from pan over the bowl of pork cutlet rice.
  15. ENJOY ~
Enhanced by Zemanta
5 thoughts on “Today, I enjoy solitude at the country french cafe & bring you recipe for Rice Bowls (donburi issue)….

  1. La Madeleine AND Japanese food! Too much for one post 🙂 if you HAD to eat one thing for the rest of your life, don’t you think rice bowls would be a pretty good option?!

  2. Yum! Thanks for the recipe. Sadly, I’m not sure I can get all those ingredients here in Florida. Our Asian food selection is woeful.

    I LOVE La Madeleine! They are from Texas where I grew up. I adore their tomato basil bisque. I had one of the best dates of my life in one of their stores. Le sigh.

    Thanks for the memories!

    Cheers,
    Shauna

    • Oh no! They might sell the mirin & dashi in the supermarket! I’m sorry about that…

      I didn’t know La Madeleine is from Texas! Such good food! 🙂 And thanks for stopping by! ~Jarkie

Leave a comment, tell us what you like, ask us a question! :) Thanks!

