Today, I ask you: Eat, Pray, Love? [Submit your experience/Ask Your Questions!] :)

“Nostalgia makes us a bit more human” – In a recent NYT blog, John Tierney discusses how nostalgia can actually be a good thing. Memories of my six months abroad (2011) studying, living, conducting research, traveling, meeting people, pretending I was Indian (in both India and China… haha fooled that Chinese cab driver! 😛 ) in Udaipur (India), Beijing (China), Anhui (birthplace), & Yunnan (my home foreversssss) constantly come back to me.

via: fyeahmindyproject.tumblr.com

This reminds me of Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love. Okay okay, I’ll be honest. I stopped reading that book after I finished India. And I stopped watching the movie after she left Italy. So … I guess I don’t know what happened in INDONESIA! Haha. But then … as relationships come and go… somehow… accidentally, I was living out my own version of Eat, Pray, Love.

Eat. Okay that needs no explanation. This is 100% always happening.
Pray. The temples in India, my village temple in Yunnan, the clouds in Yunnan, the mountains in Yunnan, the sunset in Udaipur, the forts in Udaipur, the desert, the 115 degree Fahrenheit days in Udaipur, the stares, the bike accident after actually drunken noodles, etc etc… they all made me wonder about my own particular views and beliefs again. I’m still not sure… just as lost as Margaret was in Are you there God? It’s me, Margaret
Love. Welp. Welp. Welp. I did not find love in the form of a Brazilian businessman, if you’re wondering about that… but…
I think about this trip so much… because it was unplanned, completely by accident. But it meant so much to me. I turned into an infant, crawling around, eating with my fingers (literally.. what a disaster and a complete mess that was when it came to rice.. but I mastered the art of the eat-yo-roti-with-just-yo-right-hand technique. Whoot!) … meeting all sorts of lovely folks, learning new languages, learning more of Jarkie.
So my question to YOU, lovely readers… have you ever had an Eat, Pray, Love sort of experience? Did you plan it ? Or did you just open the door and there it was by accident? Or do you have a question about my experience? Feel free to share below in the comments or in the comment box below (these will be privately sent to us – let us know if you mind us sharing your experience & with or without your name) or you can email us at todaycommai@gmail.com. I’ll try to do a follow up postttttt 🙂

[EDIT]: Our unspoken little blog rule: one post per day. But it’s a new day! 47 minutes (as I’m typing this) into the new day!

Some photos below – alright, good night, dear readers!

signature

Enhanced by Zemanta
6 thoughts on “Today, I ask you: Eat, Pray, Love? [Submit your experience/Ask Your Questions!] :)

  1. Wow that looks like an amazing experience. The picture of the sunrise at Taj Mahal was excellent. I want to go abroad in Asia one of these summers (anywhere! but especially China, Tokyo, and Seoul haha). How did the unplanned part happen and how were you able to get around – were you traveling by yourself? Also love how you did the pictures side by side on this post. How did you do that?

    • Oooo I’ve never been to Tokyo/Seoul but if you have any questions about traveling China, I’d be happy to give you suggestions — feel free to email us at todaycommai@gmail.com or there’s a contact form under the About section… 🙂

      As for this trip… I actually went to India/China the first time as part of a study abroad program… I had never thought about studying abroad in college and then one day… (as the deadline for this program was approaching)… I just said, “Why not?” and I decided to go! And again, I didn’t expect to go back to India, but I decided to carry out a more detailed version of the research project I did there the first time… and so I went back… with funding from a fellowship… Fellowships/grants are a wonderful way for you to go somewhere if you’re finding yourself short on money! I just made sure to make lots of friends .. and they were very helpful along the way! If you’re traveling by yourself… I’d say the best thing is to make friends, make friends and make friends! Whether that’s with other tourists or with people that you find there. I guess I was lucky, because I always found host families to stay with.
      ~ Jarkie
      P.S. As for the pictures… when you “add media” to your posts… you can choose to “create a gallery” and then there will be options for how you want your gallery/slideshow! I hope that helps! 🙂

  2. i wouldnt have described my experiences as spontaneous. often, i’ll look back on them and it will seem so surreal that i was there and did that. i can barely remember jarkie before india – amazing how life-changing it was!

    • I’d say Buda was PRETTAY SPONTANEOUS! It might not have seemed like it… but I do a … compare the amount of time spent deciding whether you should go to the amount of time you’re be spending there… pretty tiny number… so I say = spontaneous!

  3. Pingback: Today, I’m thinking about cultivating my garden… | todaycommai

Leave a comment, tell us what you like, ask us a question! :) Thanks!

