Today, I’m taking control of the situation (Birchbox July 2013)!

Wheeeeeeeeee.

My Birchbox came today! This was the first box that got me into the little world of boxes. However, since I’m saving up [or at least trying to] for further schooling, I’ve cut down on the random boxes I get. Now it’s down to this one, my Blush mystery box and NewBeauty TestTube. I guess I don’t have the self-discipline to cut all the way down yet! 😛

I’ve been feeling sluggish lately, not wanting to do anything… but so many wonderful things happened this week.

  1. I got a FREE Keurig from work! WHA??!??!!!! When I was asked if I wanted one to take home. I blinked a couple of times. Is she talking about keurig cups?! I had to pinch myself to make sure I was not in my own dream.
  2. I’m Yelp Elite! Wheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee. 🙂
  3. My application got verified! Wheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee. It’s finally getting REAL.
  4. I caught up with a group of wonderful ladies last night… we were very close our freshmen year.
  5. Massage Week – this is mostly because I’ve been procrastinating with groupons. What that means is that I have 4-5 massages lined up this week. Am I complaining? Nope. 🙂 Plus they’re all reflexology/acupressure places and the staff speak Chinese and it makes me feel at home.

This month’s Birchbox theme is Power Play [n. a move that puts an individual in a position of victory and strength… and/or maximizes one’s happiness or confidence… and allows for extreme freedom]. Inspired by the character’s of the USA’s hit series SUITS, this month’s box is all about helping us take control of any situation. Lately, I’ve lost grip of things… but I’m pulling through! #1) Get rid of those disgusting things, both emotionally & physically. No need to keep negativity around. #2) Cleansing. Hahhahahaha. I signed up for a 3-day juice cleanse (one that celebrities such as Olivia Wilde and Julia Stiles love). More to come about that. Hahahaha, I’m already laughing. The -arkies know that I am one who needs her food. Eating only raw foods (veggies/fruits) for me = NOT EATING. Expect a cranky Jannie for three days next week! But anyways, enough talk, here’s what I received. Let me just say that an eye cream I found in my box alone made me a happy GIRL. Everything else? The frosting on that delicious cupcake . 🙂

Benefit Cosmetics It’s Potent! Eye Cream (0.1 oz/$6.80)
Oh my gosh! YES! YES! YES! Thank you, Birchbox! I love Benefit (well, I’ve only tried their makeup, but that means I love them) AND I NEED/LOVE eye creams! It’s suppose to help fade dark circles and help sooth fine lines. And it’s got such cute packaging (as do all Benefit products) and the jar is adorbs. Okay, I sound like a child on Christmas. Haha.

DDF Acne Control Treatment (0.5 oz/$13.52)
Meh.
I logged into to my account to check out my profile. No where did I mention that I have acne :\ But ahhhh oh well. I gave it to my roommate. Hopefully she’ll like it 🙂

Number 4 Super Comb Prep & Protect (~1.5 oz/$7.16 ?)
BIRCHBOX FINALLY! I’ve gotten a Number 4 product before… but it was N/A for me. This one is perfect! I’ve been looking for a leave-in conditioner. This one is sulfate-free and it safeguards color and protects against UV rays. Wheeee. The scent is a bit strong… but it just smells like conditioner.. thank goodness not a strong fruity/sweet/sticky scent !

SUIT PICK — theBalm cosmetics InStain Long-Wearing Powder Staining Blush (0.018 oz/$4.40)
Another creative package, especially for a sample-size product. The cover (see photo above) is designed as a Magazine. Hehe. It’s pretty pink. I can tell this little booklet of blush will last me a while.

BEAUTY EXTRA – Birchbox Bobby Pins (set of 2, $1.66)
I have really thick hair so I can always use pins. I wish I could have received the colorful ones, but that’s probably what I get for saying that I’m more of a classic type of girl and not trendy 😛  I remember seeing this product in the sneakpeeks – very cool design! They’ll for sure go to use! There’s a blog for how to wear bobby pins – APPARENTLY I HAVE BEEN DOING IT WRONG THIS ENTIRE TIME! Click here to read more.

Final thoughts? The last few Birchboxes have been nice! I love that all of the items are deluxe … I’ll be able to use each item at least three or four times, which is exciting! Also, I did end up giving the most expensive product away, but that’s okay, because I love all the other items 🙂 The total value of the box came to $33.54. I’m a happy camper. What’d you get in your box? Are we birchbox twins? Enjoy the evening, and I’ll be back with an iFabbo product and my cleanse!

signature

Enhanced by Zemanta
5 thoughts on “Today, I’m taking control of the situation (Birchbox July 2013)!

  1. What I love about Birchbox is that they really do have different stuff for everyone. I haven’t received my July box yet, but when I logged into the website, I could already see what products I’m getting and they are completely different from yours – which is awesome! I love that it’s so personalized! I am also getting the Number 4 spray! I’ve got my tracking number, but my box can’t get here soon enough!
    – Michelle
    http://beautifulgoodies.wordpress.com

    • Yes! I love that they added questions to their profile survey! 🙂 It’s been awesome… I think they have 20-something (I could be making this number up) boxes, right? Look forward to seeing what you get in your July box… I’ll be sure to check it out!

Leave a comment, tell us what you like, ask us a question! :) Thanks!

