Today, I am heading back home.

What a CRAZY few days!

Sunday:
Drive from NC to MD
Meet up with Jarkie and get “breakfast” at 10pm

20130709-153039.jpg

Monday:
Drive from MD to NYC
Stop in Brooklyn for bread and to meet my grandpa’s adorable brother who I didn’t even know existed (Calixte…cool name!)
Drive to stadium in NJ
Cheer on the team among throngs of national team fans!
Drive from NJ to MD at 1am

20130709-153210.jpg

Tuesday:
Leave MD at 3pm and hopefully get home in a timely manner

Phew!

20130709-152727.jpg

It seems that everything that could go wrong did go wrong. My dad is always quoting Murphy’s law.

I’ll be getting a ticket for running a red light which, long story short, is false. My dad is gonna get a ticket from a toll because he went to the EZpass line and once he realized it, he couldn’t back up. And I’m sure we’ll probably get some kind of speeding ticket because Maryland gives them out like toothbrushes at the dentist’s office.

20130709-153852.jpg

It took us 4 hours to get from Brooklyn to the Stadium–a 12 mile drive. We had a ticket for a double header (2 games back to back) and we completely missed the first one and barely made it for kickoff of the second one. I only had $7 for $10 parking so I had to make a U-turn and meet up with my dad who hopped out to get food. My grandpa (Pepe) and I didn’t have much time so we only ate a quarter of our sandwiches and I put the rest in my bag so we could run to the stadium. Of course, no food is allowed so I had to throw it away.

And to top it all off, Haiti lost 2-0.

BUT, at the end of the day, this was one of the most fun trips ever! I adopted the “it is what it is” mentality before we left and it really paid off! I can’t wait to get home and sleep but I enjoyed my epic road trip.

P.s. I forgot to mention that I spent 4 hours being run ragged by two absolutely adorable, yet exhausting, kids. I learned A LOT.

20130709-152656.jpg

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 thoughts on “Today, I am heading back home.

  1. Glad you got to spend time with your wifey (MOI), your family, your team… whoot whoot! Glad you had fun. I’m still laughing at all the tickets. I know it’s not funny from your P.O.V … ❤ love!

  2. you are seemingly ALWAYS on the go! — glad it was such such a great trip though, and that you turned the hectic into fun! ❤

Leave a comment, tell us what you like, ask us a question! :) Thanks!

