Today, I’m prepping for fourth of july (NewBeauty TestTube July/August 2013)…

Happy almost independence day to our dearest readers!  I get tomorrow (Thurs) off work… so I decided to also take Friday off and make it a nice four (4!)-day weekend. Gives me just enough time to fly back home to the best place in the world: Louisville, Kentucky. 🙂 Have you ever been? If not, you should! You’re missing out!

Anyways, some catching up: us –arkies got a twitter! We’re still learning how to use it but you can check us out @todaycommai. In addition, we’re starting our July Giveaway this afternoon! Mmmm… other than that, nothing much. Charkie is traveling in Germany with no weefee. Markie, Arkie, Jarkie (that’s me!) –> we’re all working in our own ways on our next steps in LIFE. 🙂 Let’s see where our futures lead. Anyways. Back to this post.

photo 1 (2)

I love that they’ve been adding this bonus products pouches! 🙂

New Beauty. Question: Which one do you prefer (if you’ve tried both) – QVC or NewBeauty Test Tube? I’ve only gotten one QVC tube so it’s difficult for me to say… but I’d love to hear what you have to say. For those of you all not familiar with these tubes. Each one costs ~36 dollars (after shipping and such)… The QVC one is a quarterly box (they reveal all the products.. and you can buy just that individual tube). The NewBeauty one is now a bi-monthly (as in every other month… is that the term for that?) subscription. So basically if you’re subscribed, you pay more for NewBeauty but you also get more products in a year. From my New Beauty magazine, … the next QVC tube will be available for purchase August 9th! 🙂

Side note: If you’re interested in getting a box … I have a referral link for $5 off your first box… email todaycommai@gmail.com and I’ll send that over to you.

The box at a glance.

The box at a glance. I spy a Moroccan Oil product. Teehee.

photo 5

Philosophy purity made simple one-step facial cleanser (1 oz/ ~$3.33)
This is a 3-in-1 cleanser for the face and eyes … making this is a perfect travel product. Who has time to remove makeup, cleanse and tone?! 😛 I tried it and I like it… the scent isn’t strong… and it does a good job of removing makeup (well, at least my eye-makeup… )

MoroccanOil Body Butter (1.7 oz/ $13.81)
This product uses antioxidant argan oil, and argan, shea, cocoa and mango butters to soothe your skin. Another product with a light scent. Good news 🙂

Perlage Illuminating Primer (0.017 oz/ ??)
I don’t really know much about this… are you familiar? I also don’t use primers.

photo 4 (2)

Pantene Expert Collection Pro-V AgeDefy Shampoo (3.9 oz / $3.47)
Not much to say here, except, woah…STRONG SCENT! I don’t know if I like that. My entire box/test tube smelled like this shampoo/conditioner set. And I couldn’t get the scent out of my nostrils for the longest of time. This will come into use when I’m traveling, for sure!

Pantene Expert Collection Pro-V AgeDefy Conditioner (2.5 oz/ $2.67)

It’s a 10 Miracle Leave-in Lite (2 oz/ $10.00)
A leave in conditioner that you use after you’ve shampooed/conditioned and towel dried your hair. I always need conditioners, so this is great. I hope it works! I’ll let y’alls know.

photo 1 (1)

tarte Pure Maracuja Oil Rollerball (0.60 oz/ $17.00)
I’m probably most excited about this item! I’ll be honest. I have no clue at all what Maracuja Oil is. A quick google/wiki search will do 🙂 According to tarte, it contains Vit C and essential fatty acids. This sample came in a roller-ball form which is great! It is in a glass bottle, so if you keep this in your purse, you want to be careful not to accidentally break it and have oil soaked your hangbags. However, I love the rollerball, it makes it easy to apply to my face, especially under my eyes. I’m excited to see it’s effects. And I’m happy there’s not really a strong scent (actually I didn’t smell anything).

ybf Automatic Brow Pencil ($12.oo)
For those of you interested, this is a paraben-free/cruelty-free product. I read their description (link above) of the product and found it amusing and cute. Hehe. Take control of them eyebrows! I don’t really do anything with my brows. Sorry for my bushy eyebrows 😛 But I did give it a try, though I really don’t know how brow pencils work. Maybe you can give me some tips 

photophoto 2 (3)

ORLY Nail Polish (0.6 oz/$8.50) – 
I don’t use nail polish that often, so I don’t really care for this. Twas funny… because they mentioned how the excitement of this being the first nail polish in a test tube! No excitement for me… but no worries! It’ll be a good gift 🙂

Lumene Vitamin C+ Pure Radiance Night Cream (0.5 oz/ ~$5.87) – pictured below
A decent sample size night cream. I received the day cream in another NewBeauty box, I believe.

photo 4 (1)

NEW BEAUTY magazine – $9.95

BONUS PRODUCTS

photo 2 (1)

Boost-it! Instant Complexion Enhancer (0.25 oz/ ~$10.90)
Supposedly tightens and brightens the skin within seconds! I don’t really need the tightening but I guess I could try it for the brightening!

Dalton Colour Creme Lip Gloss  in Shawny K. (.21 oz/ ~$15.00)
I like the application of this gloss. I noticed on the website that it should come with a brush… maybe I missed it in my box. Or it just didn’t come with it. I’ll have to do some more digging. I’m not sure how I feel about this yet. It’s very shiny. You probably have to reapply every 2 hours or so. I do like the fact that it comes in a jar… this means none of it goes to waste.  As you can tell, with the color I received, the color is very light… not much… more gloss than color. It definitely felt like my lips got plumper.

photo 3 (1) photo 3 (3)

NIP + FAB No Needle Fix Serum (2 .03 oz foil packets, ~$0.70)
A serum to fill in fine lines and smooth wrinkles … hehe don’t got those yet… but soon enough. They shall arrive. When I stay up late stu-DYING. 😛 And this will come handy.

************************************************************

Okay, pretty sweet box! I feel like I’ll use almost everything… except for maybe the nail polish. It’s not my most favorite box, but I am still a happy gal. 🙂 I received over $100 worth of products… for only $36 … which is not bad… actually pretty sweet. 🙂 Did you receive this box? What did you think and what did you get for your Bonus Products? Enjoy the day… and stay tuned for our giveaway! 🙂

Enhanced by Zemanta

7 thoughts on “Today, I’m prepping for fourth of july (NewBeauty TestTube July/August 2013)…

  1. Pingback: Today, I am back from a trip to the Windy City! | todaycommai

  2. Pingback: Today, I’m taking control of the situation (Birchbox July 2013)! | todaycommai

  3. Pingback: Today, I’m HANGRY … (July 2013 Blush Mystery Sneak Peak) | todaycommai

  4. Pingback: Today, I am a busy bee but I review the July Blush Beauty Mystery Box… | todaycommai

Leave a comment, tell us what you like, ask us a question! :) Thanks!

