Today, I’m recapping my visit to North Philly.

Awesome readers, I wish I had been able to take photos to share with you, but alas, I was not able to. Luckily, Google Images can provide you with a look at any of the places I’m about to mention. Anyway, as I mentioned, I lived in Philadelphia this past year, and I’ve had the chance to check out many places in Center City and University City, but unfortunately, I haven’t had any time to check out North Philly. I rectified this on a visit to Drexel School of Medicine and Temple School of Medicine last week.

Temple Med was in a part of town that was absolutely teeming with activity. I was there in the afternoon, so that would have contributed, but there were tons of people there. The School of Medicine is directly across from the ambulance entrance to the emergency room, so there were police vans and ambulances galore. Sirens were going off frequently. The sidewalks were absolutely teeming with people, and even the benches outside of the hospital were surrounded by loiterers.

Just as I was told, the surrounding areas were pretty low-income. I got a couple of glances from residents of North Philly, who were primarily African American, that seemed to suggest I (a 23 year old Indian woman) was an unwelcome outsider, but I was not harassed outright. Honestly, the only Caucasian people I saw in that area were MD students wearing white coats. The new School of Medicine building that Temple built was pretty awesome.

Drexel Med was in an area that seemed to have much less activity than Temple Med. (On a side note, the rest of Temple University is located closer to Drexel and seems to be much quieter.) The sidewalks were pretty clear in this area, although there were tons of cars on the streets in front of the School of Medicine and the teaching hospital associated with it. There were some buildings in that area that also had amazing architecture.

All in all, it was a pretty interesting venture into North Philly, and it definitely gave me a lot of food for thought.

8 thoughts on “Today, I’m recapping my visit to North Philly.

    • I definitely would be! Granted I only spent a tiny amount of time there, so I can’t really comment on how dangerous it actually is, but if my experience there reflects reality, it definitely is not dangerous at 2 PM. At all. As long as you’re minding your own business and not doing anything to invite crime.

    • Sweet! You know, I wasn’t able to visit Duke before matriculating, so I was googling descriptions of it back then. That’s exactly why I posted this; I had trouble finding good visitors’ experiences with these schools online.

  1. Drexel is not in North Philadelphia and nowhere near Temple’s main campus. Drexel is located in University City which is a West Philadelphia neighborhood.

    • Thank you for your comment! Drexel School of Medicine is in North Philly, despite the fact that the rest of Drexel University is in University City. And in fact, the School of Medicine and the teaching hospital (Hahnemann University Hospital) are very close to Temple.

Leave a comment, tell us what you like, ask us a question! :) Thanks!

