Today, I’m feeling the American Beauty… (Glossybox June 2013)

Wow! Glossybox sure surprised me this month! The box came in earlier, but I was busy with getting my car fixed. That process took over 6 hours… but luckily there was a mall across the street…so, retail therapy!! I’ll post the items that were the products of the therapy session, but back to the box! Glossybox had given us so many sneak peeks (and eventually revealing the box contents) before the box actually shipped. I suppose this was to keep our curiosity alive since the boxes were sent out later than usual this month…  That did not bother me, because I was so happy with the products and the packaging and everything else!

Note: I’ll begin writing more reviews of all the products that I’ve either stumbled upon by myself or have received in these boxes. You can use the menu above (look under “Health/Beauty”) to navigate the subscription box and product reviews … 🙂

The box + GLOSSYBOX MAG (june 2013)

The box + GLOSSYBOX MAG (june 2013)

This month, fashion illustrator Dallas Shaw made a sketch of The Glossy Girl … featured on the lids of all the boxes (see above picture). In addition, she curated the product collection of the box. I suppose I must thank her, because I love the box!

photo 2 (23)

Box at a glance

A print of Dallas Shaw’s sketch of The Glossy Girl (the same one was printed on the lids of the box) is included in the box… if you flip it over, it’s a list of all the products included in this months box. I really like the sketch and think I’ll use it as decoration on my walls.

photo 3 (22)

Oscar de la Renta ESSENTIAL LUXURES (0.18 fl oz/ ~$7.94)
I love that all six fragrance samples were included. The silk bag that the samples came in was a nice touch .. definitely made these seem luxurious. And woah, these perfumes are expensive! I think I like Granada the most (I love jasmine scents!)… but here’s a short description of each scent (from the magazines):

  • Sargasso – Fresh citrus notes, watery cucumber and patchouli
  • Coralina Blend of mimosa, violet, orris
  • Granada – Romantic citrus floral .. jasmine petals/bitter orange with exotic roses …
  • Oriental Lace A blend of hoya carnosa flower and honey and bitter almond with dark cacao and patchouli
  • Santo Domingo – Smooth, smoky with notes of mandarin, coriander, tobacco, patchouli and spices
  • Mi Corazon – Tuberose and ylang-ylang with peach

photo 4 (20)

Tarte Complexion Enhancing Lipstick (Full size 3.5 g / $14.50)
I applied this lipstick to my hand and really loved the shade, a sort of creamy & glossy pink shade. However, I noticed that the packaging is not the best… Tip: do not twist up too much of the lipstick… to avoid it falling off … it must have something to do with their eco-packing. I almost broke mine! I could feel it wobbling!

Spa Ritual in Whirlwind Romance (Full size .5 fl oz / $12.00)
I really don’t use nail polish all too much, but I love this shade. I think I’m going to keep this one. This line of polish is created from naturally formulated, vegan, certified-organic and fair-trade ingredients.

photo 5 (16)

c. Booth Honey Almond Nourishing Dry Oil Mist (2 fl oz/ $4.00)
They call it a lightweight dry oil … though when I sprayed it on… it was very oily and thick. They also say it’s a gentle sweet blend, but I’d say that it smells really really sweet. Despite that, the oil mist definitely made my arms, legs and hair feel soft. I will definitely be using this for right after showers to seal in the moisture.

Philip B Styling Gel (2 fl oz/ $6.00)
Every box this month comes with a Philip B product. I wish I could have gotten a conditioner or some other sort of product because I don’t really style my hair 😛 … but I can’t complain. It’s definitely a nice size… you should see this product in an upcoming giveaway!

Final Thoughts? I was really amazed by this months collection. The total value of the box came to about $44.44. I signed up for the 3-month subscription and this was my 3rd box. I’m sad that I will not be extending my subscription… mostly because I’m cutting down to only having 2-3 subscriptions now.

Did you get this month’s box? What did you think about it?

Enhanced by Zemanta
10 thoughts on “Today, I’m feeling the American Beauty… (Glossybox June 2013)

  1. Oooooh this looks like a nice box. It’s interesting to see what you get in your Glossyboxes on the other side of the pond compaired to UK ones. Looks like a good haul!

  2. Pingback: Today, I bring you my ZARA finds and happy panda umbrella (strange instructions!)… | todaycommai

  3. Pingback: Today, I’m prepping for fourth of july (NewBeauty TestTube July/August 2013)… | todaycommai

  4. Hey! Want to trade your Philip B product? I received a conditioner that I will never use, but I would actually get some use out of a gel to help contain my crazy, frizzy, curly hair. I’d be totally interested if you are so just let me know.

    Nice review. I’ll be posting mine this week.

    Cheers,
    Shauna

    • Oh no! I ended up using that product for our giveaway! 😦
      … hmmm but next time, I’ll wait a little and see if anyone wants to trade with me! 🙂
      Look forward to reading your review 🙂

      ~Jarkie

  5. Pingback: Today, I’m thinking about cultivating my garden… | todaycommai

  6. Pingback: Today, I’m HANGRY … (July 2013 Blush Mystery Sneak Peak) | todaycommai

  7. Pingback: Today, I am a busy bee but I review the July Blush Beauty Mystery Box… | todaycommai

Leave a comment, tell us what you like, ask us a question! :) Thanks!

