Today, I bring you the [almost] perfect cup of chai!

The -arkies know my love for India, namely, the city of Udaipur. Since I left Udaipur in July 2011, I’ve been missing the times where I could expect to consume >6 cups of chai per day. The chai found in cafe’s that I went to… well that was a twist that did not give me the flavors I needed. And the “masala chai” I’ve ordered at certain restaurants in Bethesda did not bring me the taste I’ve been missing… something so simple to make… why did it not occur to me? Make it yoself!

photo 1
So that’s what I’ve been doing.

Materials: Stove, Pot, Strainer, Cup

Ingredients: Water, Milk (Whole Milk), Black Tea (bags or looseleaf), Cinnamon stick/ground cinnamon works too, Ginger slices/ground ginger works too, Sugar, Cardamom pods

photo 3

**If you’re not lazy like me, grind the cinnamon, ginger slices and cardamom. If you’re lazy like me just throw it in whole 😛 hahaha

photo 4

Everyone has different ways of making chai, kind of play around with it. Some say half milk, half water… others say 2/3 water, 1/3 milk. Play around.

  1. I bring everything, except the sugar and milk, to a boil first.
  2. Then I add the sugar (I add about 3 heaping spoonfuls of sugar for every 2cups water/1 cup milk that I use… I’m using about 3-4 teabags (I guess that’s about 3-4 spoonfuls of loose tealeaves).
  3. Add the milk
  4. Bring to a boil, turn heat down and just kind of let everything steep.
  5. Pour the chai through a strainer into your cup. Voila! Enjoy!

Anyways, a lot of this is up to how you want it to taste, just kind of play around with it. Is there anything that you do differently… do you have a good recipe?

As for me, this smell and taste of this drink brings back so many lovely memories. The only thing that’s missing is a cow … for me to milk… because that milk that I could get directly would enhance the taste of this chai that much more. 😛

I’ve been a bit busy lately, but more of Jarkies IndoChinese recipes to come! 🙂

❤ Jarkie

Enhanced by Zemanta
6 thoughts on “Today, I bring you the [almost] perfect cup of chai!

  1. Can I skip the Cardamom pods? Would it affect the taste? I want to try this 🙂 but I don’t have the pods & the nearest mall here is 40mins ride away from my house. LOL Great post, btw 🙂 Thanks, kisses from roro

    • For sure! The ginger and cinnamon still make it a lovely treat! When I’m feeling lazy, I just make it with the tea + sugar + milk. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a comment, tell us what you like, ask us a question! :) Thanks!

