See You Later, See You Soon

We’ve been sweating it out in the heat and doing major packing this weekend. My possessions are divided into “will need this summer” & “staying in BP”, most of them falling into the latter category so as not to lug them around for the next two months. Even though I won’t be leaving the city until the end of June, I’m putting things in storage this week at Anna’s cousin’s house. It was very kind of her to offer the space (and save me 2 months’ rent!); I hope she won’t regret it when she sees just how much STUFF I’m handing over.

Other than that, it’s been a social weekend – 3 outings in as many days! I guess I can’t claim hermit status anymore.

On Friday, I went to Gerbeaud, Budapest’s most famous café, for the first time. It’s in a beautiful part of the city teeming with tourists, and priced accordingly. Four of us shared this sampler platter:
1588
Then, we walked around for a bit on Vaci utca before heading home. Budapest is radiant in the summer sun.

Yesterday, five of us had dinner at The Big Fish, billed as “the only restaurant in town that offers fresh seafood, made in front of you”. It was excellent, and I’m definitely planning on returning to try the paella, which was sold out (a common occurrence, apparently). The only blight on the meal was an injured pigeon in the middle of the sidewalk behind us. It had a broken leg and was trying to launch itself to a safer corner, which it ultimately did, but seeing it suffer was terrible.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

There’s been an undercurrent of goodbyes as we part for the summer months, but we’ll be back at the books before we know it.

Enhanced by Zemanta
6 thoughts on “See You Later, See You Soon

  1. Oh mai! I do not like sweets but that sample platter looks delicious! I’m excited that you will test out all these places and take me to the best ones! (Everything is about me :P)

  2. I have such a crush on stephen kellogg.
    You’re getting to know the city so well! You’ll be the best tour guide when the -arkies visit 😉
    Hope moving goes smoothly!
    (and yes, your hermitude is seriously lacking)

    • he’s coming out with a solo album, i read on noisetrade!
      i am looking forward to taking you to all these places 🙂

    • Thanks for your comment! I hope you enjoy your trip!! I’ll be going around the city with a visitor this week, so I’ll post about more interesting places soon!

Leave a comment, tell us what you like, ask us a question! :) Thanks!

