Today, I recap the last week of school!

School’s out, except for the not-so-trivial fact of exams going on until June. Still, I’m happy to be one step nearer to closing out the first year on this long road.

It’s been an eventful week!

Monday: Apathy struck.

Tuesday: We had a Hungarian final (oral) exam and biochem lab practical (written). Instead of doing the last lab after our short test, the professor told us to go home πŸ™‚ I’m going to miss her dry sense of humor and direct questions (You don’t understand? VHY?!) next year. Rina and I tried out an Indian restaurant that recently opened called Bombay Curry . We each ordered a somosa and split a spinach dish (whose name Jarkie can probably tell you, but which now escapes me) and mango lassi. It was tasty, and I’m glad that there’s such a convenient place for Indian food nearby!

Rina about to dig in to her samosa. It was accompanied by a spicy/minty green dip.

Rina about to dig in to her samosa.

Happy to be satisfying my craving for Indian food! (Think Sitar from the campus cafeteria, but less greasy)

Happy to be satisfying my craving for Indian food! (Think Sitar from the campus cafeteria, but less greasy)

Wednesday: Ah yes, this was the day when I superglued my fingertips. — Not together, thankfully, but I was trying to fix something and inadvertently got the glue on my fingers. Protip: Wear gloves! After a minute of panic that I’d never feel my fingertips again, I turned to the interwebs and realized that it would come off soon enough. Thankfully, it was mostly gone by the next day! Protip #2: Ask for help. I was too stubborn to ask Anna for help because, when I brought home the glue, she told me, “You won’t be able to do it yourself.” Well…I showed her! But I don’t know if it was worth it πŸ˜›

Earlier in the day, our Medical Communications class practiced talking about sexual problems with patients, since those issues are mired in privacy and taboo. Similarly to when we learned how to give bad news, a psychologist came in to play the role of the patient. I inadvertently volunteered myself to act as her physician, but it was good practice.

Thursday: I stayed home and studied. A friend sent me the new Vampire Weekend album as an early birthday present (the wonders of iTunes!), and I’ve been listening to it on repeat. One of my favorite bands!

Anna’s cousin came over and brought us more beautiful flowers from her garden.
IMG_0350

I also got confirmation about my living situation for the summer practical, so that’s a weight lifted! Summer 2013 looks to be one big adventure with family. Details to come! πŸ™‚

Friday: Today was LDOC (last day of classes)! Our anatomy lectures ended on a whimper, with the last one given by one of my least favorite lecturers. That was followed by an exam on the urogenital system in the dissection room, and then, just like that, classes were over for the year!
Last but not least, I came home to a box from Jarkie in the mail today! Yes, that’s right! A beauty box of my very own!!
I haven’t had a chance to try any of the products yet, but here’s a look:

So nicely packaged!

So nicely packaged!

This is not as nicely presented as Jarkie would do it...

This is not as nicely presented as Jarkie would do it…

Included were:
1.) A cucumber mask, which I will probably use after my first exam
2.) Eyeliner
3.) Lip gloss
4.) 2 moisturizers
5.) a Wisconsin cow postcard because … [I can’t finish this sentence]

Not shown: a pretty friendship cherry blossom notebook and a card from the Smithsonian Air & Space Museum πŸ™‚ Thank you so much, Jarkie!! I’ll be sure to let you know how radiant my skin becomes.

Have a vampire weekend!

Enhanced by Zemanta
21 thoughts on “Today, I recap the last week of school!

  1. Good luck on your exams! And, why can’t you tell us what the Wisconsin cow postcard is about? I realize at least one reason is personal, but could there be “anudder” one?

    Cheers,

    Jim Amos, MD
    The Practical Psychosomaticist

  2. The answer is quite clear! Jarkie loves cheese. Wow this is a post filled with positive attitude! LOL
    #1) i’m jealous of your indian cuisine. samosaaaaaa
    #2) Loving your beauty review
    #3) HAHAHAHAHA superglue. I should send that to you in a box next time avec gloves. πŸ˜›
    #4) How was it as a physician?

    ❀

  3. You didn’t mention that the “patient” said, not only that you had a gift, but that you were marvelous, truly marvelous, and that you picked up on all of her issues, broke them down to the core and addressed them. You really were amazing πŸ™‚ Was inspiring to watch!

    Looks like you and Rina had fun at the Indian place. I can’t believe they opened already! Next stop, the bakery.

    Tisk, tisk for you gluing your fingertips together and having too much pride to tell Anna. Guess you really showed her *shaking super-glued index finger* πŸ˜‰ What were you gluing that needed super glue?

    • HA!!! Thank you!! I felt awkward throughout, and YOU didn’t mention the part where I started laughing at her problems. I still feel bad about that … guess I’ve got to tamp down on that nervous response!

      The Indian place and bakery were up in about a week, it seemed! And yet, the building next to anatomy has been vacant for years …
      The bakery is definitely the next stop; I’ll let you know when!

      I was gluing the rubber part of my joystick that had fallen off! Oh yes, Anna was VERY impressed πŸ˜›

  4. Pingback: A bittersweet end | Buda-B

  5. Pingback: Today, I’m writing my love note to Philly. | todaycommai

  6. Pingback: Today, I will sleep well with my test tube… | todaycommai

  7. Pingback: Today, I’m wondering about love but it’s time to travel!! (Birchbox June 2013) | todaycommai

  8. Pingback: Today, I wish y’alls a HAPPY OAKS DAY! | todaycommai

  9. Pingback: Today, I am One and DONE. | todaycommai

  10. Pingback: Today, I’m Spring Breaking! | todaycommai

  11. Pingback: Long liver the long weekend! | todaycommai

  12. Pingback: Today, I fell over the edge. | todaycommai

  13. Pingback: Today, I pack away the anatomy books | todaycommai

  14. Pingback: Thursday thoughts | todaycommai

  15. Pingback: Surgery, Sun, Song | todaycommai

  16. Pingback: Smells like med school | todaycommai

  17. Pingback: Life is a sexually transmitted, fatal disease | todaycommai

Leave a comment, tell us what you like, ask us a question! :) Thanks!

