Today, I’m back at work…

It’s back to working and studying. Oh oh oh. But what an adventurous weekend, revisiting some childhood memories.

On Saturday, I got to see the good ole Arkie! 🙂 We caught up again and visited the library she used to go to… and then ate LOTS OF bok choy at Hot Pot.

Yesterday, I decided to do some DC sightseeing. I call it speed-museum-going. I only had about 2.25 hours to spend but I squeezed in as much as I could! First up, I have heard people rave about the Mitsitam Cafe at the Museum of the American Indian.

IMG_3668

Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian

IMG_3676There was a selection of exhibits such as Our Universe, Our Peoples, etc. The photo to the left (click on it for a larger view) is part of the Contemporary Life and Identities exhibit… gathering experiences from residents of eight Native communities, they look at how the identity of people have been shaped by the modern world. Those glittery sneakers are awesome. But beyond that glitter, it is a complex issue of how they can claim the future as their own… as their past has been shaped largely by the arrival of newcomers on this side of the world.

The cafe was lovely! Every single thing about the menu is grand!  What museum has a cafeteria loaded with such beautifully presented dishes? I do not know!

Breast of Duck, Dried Corn & Strawberry Cake, Red Wine Strawberry Reduction

Breast of Duck, Dried Corn & Strawberry Cake, Red Wine Strawberry Reduction

Next up, a trip back to my favorite museums of all time, the National Air and Space Museum.  Some of my favorite exhibits below. I am in love with their museum store and became a Smithsonian member. If you’re interested, click here. I am ever so thankful of what this museum celebrates. That of aircraft and spacecraft. But mostly aircraft. Without it, how would I have come to be a Kentucky resident? Well, I suppose I could have sailed across the ocean… ha! I mean, their exhibit of the Northwest Boeing 747-100B is always exciting, because that’s what 8-month old Jarkie came to the United States on. But it’s great to see their collections of aircrafts (especially ones used in war) and of spacecraft.

IMG_3691 IMG_3717

IMG_3716 IMG_3715

1903 Wright Flyer. It was the first powered aircraft that was "heavier-than-air" that made flight with pilot aboard it.
1903 Wright Flyer. It was the first powered aircraft that was “heavier-than-air” that made flight with pilot aboard it.

Seems like it was a duck day for me. I stopped by a gelato place to catch up with a high school friend and we went to Chinatown Express in Chinatown (ha! surprise!). I ordered the freshly pulled noodles with duck. So good! Added some hot chili oil for a kick to it.

IMG_3738 IMG_3740

I’ll be back tomorrow with a subscription box review 🙂 Surprise!

4 thoughts on “Today, I’m back at work…

  1. The Museum of the American Indian is one of my absolute favorites – and their café is to die for! We used to walk over there to get lunch during the work week, even though we couldn’t actually stay and check out the museum. One of the perks of living in DC I guess! Their chili and fry bread is delicious! Now I’m craving it… haha!

    • The fry bread looked good! I kept eyeing it on other people’s plate. I’ll make sure to try it next time!

      Thank goodness I don’t work too near the cafe. I think I would become so poor from dining there! haha

      • I agree! I don’t work near there anymore and it’s probably a good thing because the place (like every tourist spot) is seriously expensive. But it’s a good treat when I’m downtown 🙂 And definitely try the fry bread and let me know what you think!

  2. the duck looks great- esp the chinese one (the first one looks too pink!).
    now that youre a bona fide smithsonian, i guess we’ll be getting to learn lots of things from you 🙂

Leave a comment, tell us what you like, ask us a question! :) Thanks!

