Today, I reflected on being 23.

Wow, girls (and wonderful readers from around the world). I can’t believe I’m 23. I don’t feel any different from when I turned 21 or 22, but to me, twenty three sounds so much older than those ages and so much older than I feel. I’m not college-aged anymore, despite the fact that I still feel very much like a college girl. By the time my mom was my age, she had been married for two years and had a one year old baby. My Facebook newsfeed is a stream of engagement announcements, wedding photos, and acceptances into professional schools. At family parties, I get asked when I am going to have a baby.

I’m not in any way saying that I feel pressured to do any of those things because I don’t, and I’m actually looking forward to all of those things happening to me in the next ten years. I’m just surprised at how abruptly life changes, as none of these things were on my friends’ radars just one year prior.

This past year in my life has been unideal in many ways and has been fraught with false starts, confusion, and isolation. Much of life, whether you like it or not, is feeling far away from people who truly want to see you successful and is rising above the negative programming so many people are eager to instill in everyone around them. Doing so is sometimes an act of sheer will and sometimes an act of blind faith, but I do believe the universe rewards this kind of magnanimity in the end.

Something inside of me tells me that big changes are on the horizon for me, and that life will soon metamorphose “for real and for good,” as a friend once phrased it.

2 thoughts on “Today, I reflected on being 23.

  1. “Much of life, whether you like it or not, is feeling far away from people who truly want to see you successful”– so true! Why does jt have to be that way? I enjoyed reading your reflection!

Leave a comment, tell us what you like, ask us a question! :) Thanks!

