Today, I am revealing my reality TV fixation.

Okay, so years ago, we started hearing the name “Kim Kardashian” being thrown around. I remember hearing the names of a couple of their reality shows “Keeping Up With the Kardashians” and “Kim and Kourtney Take New York,” but I always brushed it off as silliness, imagining that the show was about wealthy party girls who frequent clubs and hook up with a bunch of guys (and that’s kind of what it is). Hey, I was a Duke student at the time, so I didn’t have to look far beyond the fraternity parties I was monitoring as an RA to get my fill of that.

Well, girls, I started watching the series “Keeping Up With the Kardashians” when it came up on my Netflix account a few weeks ago, and oh my goodness. I understand it all now – why people love to hate on them and why they have so many people tuning into the show in order to have something to hate on, haha! These people lead lives that are so interesting, it’s unreal.

So, the father, Robert Kardashian, who died suddenly of acute cancer was OJ Simpson’s close friend and became OJ Simpson’s criminal defense lawyer. If that’s not interesting enough, get this: the mom, Kris Kardashian, was one of murdered Nicole Brown Simpson’s closest friends. Family tension during the trial? Why, yes, I think so. The three eldest sisters started a clothing store after Robert Kardashian died to give themselves a project to work on together. After Kim Kardashian released a sex tape, the family got a reality television show which promoted the sales of their clothing line and landed them in the spotlight.

Kim Kardashian is worth some $20 or $30 million by herself, and most of the family members have netted millions of dollars between their clothing store, fashion line, and television franchises, as well. It’s insane. A couple of years ago, she married an NBA player named Kris Humphries, but filed for divorced after 72 days and is now embroiled in a legal battle with him (because he’s suing her for an annulment, claiming that he was defrauded into marrying her for publicity…a shocking accusation, I’m sure). But now, she’s having a baby with Kanye West.

It’s scary that as a culture, we’ve given them probably upwards of $50 million worth of business, but you just can’t peel your eyes away.

5 thoughts on “Today, I am revealing my reality TV fixation.

  1. I’ve watched a few episodes on tv, and the show is addictive!! Their lives – I just don’t get them. Who’s your favorite K?

  2. OMG. Khloe is my favorite K! …not like I watch them or anything…..oops.

    You can take over, Arkie. I need to be done with this reality TV! *fingers crossed*

Leave a comment, tell us what you like, ask us a question! :) Thanks!

