Today, I am done for a while…hopefully

I have been out of town for the past 3 weekends and I kinda started working again during the week so suffice it to say I’m exhausted!

This weekend was pretty great. My dad and I went to Maryland to visit some family (and I got to see Jarkie!) and it was one of my favorite trips so far. I guess because I’m getting older, I am starting to understand how important time with the elderly relatives is. Soon they’ll be gone and a rich part of my family history will be gone with them. Even though there is a generation/culture/language barrier between me and them, I still love and cherish them so much because they are a part of who I am. Even if I barely know them in terms of personality, I understand the impact they have had and will have on my life. I also realize the responsibility I have, as the eldest of my generation, to continue on family traditions and relationships. While it is a little daunting to think of being in a will other than my parents’, I am also proud of the fact that I belong to something bigger just by being born.

Ok that was random and probably convoluted but this weekend was like a step outside of myself and see the big picture experience. I also drove by my old house that I lived in from age 4-8 and it made me so happy! Nostalgia is a funny thing–one day it can make you really sad and the next day really happy.

One thing that will never cease to amaze me is the hospitality of the Haitian community. From the second you walk in the door, even if you’ve never met the person, they welcome you with a kiss and plates of food. So. Much. Food. This weekend. At the end of it, all I wanted was an apple. A cleanse will be happening soon.

I also saw Janet and George and it was really nice to see familiar faces in an unfamiliar place. Can’t wait til visiting becomes a regular thing.

Anyway, in regular life, I’m feeling pretty good about the future right now. There are two potentially life changing things that are on the horizon for my family and I am too excited about it. Personally, moving forward in location and life is becoming more real to me though it’s still a dream when looking at my bank account.

Ok, off to watch Shahs of Sunset reunion and DOWNTON ABBEY FINALE!!!

One thought on “Today, I am done for a while…hopefully

  1. you’re the oldest of your generation in your family, and also on this blog. so much responsibility on your capable shoulders! 🙂
    i’ve never associated nostalgia with happiness .. i’ll try that connection out next time i’m reminiscing.

Leave a comment, tell us what you like, ask us a question! :) Thanks!

