Today, I am in NYC during a snow storm.

(I am in ny for a friend’s birthday weekend. We traveled from nc together.)

My friends, it has been a long 48 hours. It all started with a bus ride at 11pm on Thursday night. It rained the whole ride and, as I was sitting in the aisle seat under an emergency door, I was inevitably rained on. Not too much but just enough to be annoying and hinder my sleeping process.
We finally got to the big apple at 8ish and proceeded to walk from Chinatown across the Brooklyn Bridge. It was cold and snowing and I wondered if this foray across the bridge was to lead us somewhere but….nope. The birthday girl just really wanted to cross it. That was fine with me! This weekend, I have vowed for everything to be copacetic in my book. My toes were frozen and my bag was heavy and the ground was slippery but despite the external discomforts, I really enjoyed crossing it. The bridge is pretty and thankfully you can’t see over the sides for most of it so my fear of heights didn’t come into play. One cool thing I did see was the faintest glimpse of the Statue of Liberty. There was a lot of fog and it was kinda far away and looked actually quite creepy just standing there like that but I thought it was awesome.
Side note: every time I’m in New York, I feel like I’m on the set of some movie.
Moving on, we got breakfast and then went to a Shoe exhibit and the Fashion Institute and that was really cool! I saw the shows that Carrie Bradshaw wore, or rather famously kept in her closet, in the sex and the city movie. I’ve never watched an episode of that show and I only saw the first movie as a companion to a friend or two so the fact that I instantly recognized the shoes was weird. Must have made an impression. And I told everyone and we looked it up on YouTube and then they got excited because they’re fans of the show and took pictures next to it (well a picture of it…we were already out of the exhibit by then).
Finally, by 2pm we checked into our hotel and relaxed a bit before heading back outside. Some fretted over the blizzard but it wasn’t a big deal. Just a tad windy and very cold. We went to the MoMA for their free Fridays and saw some cool things. The 5&6th floor were my favorites because it featured artists that I’d studied in my textbook and was now able to see live: Rothko, pollock, Stella, Kandinsky, Mondrian, and of course your Van Gogh, Monet, Picasso, etc. One really cool piece was like the main one right now by this German dude. The picture doesn’t quite convey the structure well–it is a raised surface and the yellow stuff is sifted on to the gray canvas. Guess what the medium is?
Pollen!! He collects hazelnut pollen and uses it in his work. So interesting. Good thing he doesn’t have allergies.
One of the weirdest things to happen to me in a while happened at the museum. I felt a tap on my shoulder and I turned around and saw Andrea Patiño, a lovely girl I know from duke! I know quite a few people who live in NYC so I wouldn’t be completely surprised if I ran into one of them in the street but Andrea lives in Boston (where I just was!) and is also here for her birthday weekend! WOW. What a small world. But it was nice to see her because she is quite wonderful and I had missed getting in touch with her last weekend.
Ok, this is getting long but that’s how the day was! After the art gazing, we went to a restaurant called Ninja. This is a pretty famous one in NYC, it was on travel channel and even more, Snooki and JWoww went there! It was quite an experience. I don’t want to spoil anything for you but even walking to our table was a harrowing experience. And there was a magician halfway through dinner! And every seating area is like a private one! It was so cool. Sonia and I shared 2 amazing sushi dishes.
After dindin, we headed to Times Square which was amazing to see because it was bright as day but completely empty and covered in snow. We sought shelter in Dave & Buster’s, which I had never been to before, and after having a birthday celebration drink, I was very tired, watched people play a few games and left with one of the girls to come back to the hotel. It was 2:30am when we were finally walking back.
Now, I am sitting and typing, listening to the blizzard winds outside and the sounds of sleeping inside. I want to take a nap now so…I will go do that! Let’s hope I can find enough energy to sustain myself for another day of frolicking!!

20130209-101626.jpg

20130209-101640.jpg

3 thoughts on “Today, I am in NYC during a snow storm.

  1. What a weekend! Seems jam-packed, but you are a good sport for take everything so copacetically. those young’uns have so much energy 🙂

  2. Pingback: Today, I look back on the year. | todaycommai

Leave a comment, tell us what you like, ask us a question! :) Thanks!

