Today, there’s room for improvement

Well, I survived my first anatomy oral midterm, whew! I’m relieved that I passed (hooray, etc.), but it could’ve gone better, so there’s definitely room for improvement.

Oral exams are quite the strategic encounter, as I am learning. I think they provide a realistic reflection of life encounters because they have that element of subjectivity you can’t ignore. My examiner was tough, but fair, and I think she was nicer to me than she should’ve been. I was questioned on the skull, scapula, and rib bones.  The first two went well, but the rib?! — I was clueless, and literally couldn’t tell her if it was a left or right one. That was the first time I had even held a rib.  I really should’ve studied them more, since we were warned that the professors like to ask about the small bones (as opposed to, say, the femur or humerus). Hindsight and all …

For some reason, I’ve been robbed of my post-exam high, that rush of endorphins I always previously felt after an exam! B explained that we’ve only just taken the first view of our descent into hell. That would do it 🙂

 

ETA: I JUST REALIZED that I TOTALLY missed the release of J.K. Rowling’s new book, The Casual Vacancy.  Medical school, I love you, but I can’t give you everything!!!!

3 thoughts on “Today, there’s room for improvement

  1. Awww well Pagford will be sad to hear that! You break all of their hearts! I’m just kidding! And did I just hear you profess your love for medical school?
    OH NO I NEED TO COME SAVE YOU! Stockholm Syndrome?

  2. Yay for being done with the exam!! Oral exams are scarrrrrryyyy but I guess you can use charm in person more than you can on paper.

Leave a comment, tell us what you like, ask us a question! :) Thanks!

