Today, I’m in a bit of a hurry …

because Tonjia is coming soon! The next phase of this venture begins!

I registered for classes yesterday, which took all of 5 minutes, and basically consisted of handing in documents and signed forms and receiving a temporary student ID. Then, the actual registration occurred today via the interwebs, on a program similar to but seemingly more user-friendly and comprehensive than Duke’s ACES. We shall see before long, though, how frustrating it actually is.

My parents and I had a great, homecooked lunch yesterday in the Ferenc Tér (Franz Liszt square) close to my school. The “restaurant” was actually this makeshift operation inside a pagoda, with a short fixed menu, one chef, and one waitress. A soup and an entrée cost just 950 HUF, which is less than $5 USD!

Importantly, my mom and I went to an Asian food mart today, with MANY THANKS to Jarkie’s find. It’s in my district, just a few blocks from my apartment! This has provided me with much solace 🙂 My Cantonese even edges out my Hungarian knowledge, which is nothing to be proud of for either language.

The important thing is that I now have a group (12!), and a schedule! It’s not bad considering that the earliest classes here start at 8 am. I only have one of those, and it’s on Fridays when the preweekend anticipation will be in full effect anyways 🙂 There might be some shuffling of courses in the next few days, but it’s good to have something concrete to work with.

I also arranged my desk, and “a clean workspace makes for a clear mind” — says everyone who doesn’t like chaos.

2 thoughts on “Today, I’m in a bit of a hurry …

  1. And for those of us who like clutter/chaos: ““If a cluttered desk is a sign of a cluttered mind, of what, then, is an empty desk a sign?” –Albert Einstein

Leave a comment, tell us what you like, ask us a question! :) Thanks!

