Today, I CAN’T BELIEVE IT’S BEEN A MONTH!

Well technically, yesterday was my 1 month anniversary of being out here in sunny Los Angeles (slash Chino) but time got away from me so I’m posting today.

Wow. One month goes by REALLY fast. I can’t believe it’s been that long already and that Christmastime is heeeeeeeeeeere. I’m a Christmas crazy so these next couple of weeks will be pretty awesome.

It’s kind of hard to recap on a month that has been so busy. I’ve been meeting with all kinds of people (mostly Duke alum I reached out to en masse) and doing some pretty fun things like seeing a TV show taping and going to a TV show set for most of the day. The job search itself is a process that I need to find more patience in…I think having done it for the past year has jaded me a bit but now that I’m here, I need a new and fresh energy to bring to it! Oh, but I did land an internship recently! It’s crazy how just asking someone a question can get you something you didn’t plan for…like this internship. I’m really excited about it because now I really get to learn all about “the industry.” Hollywood is a weird place, folks, and it’s also kind of a small place. I see some of the same industry peeps at many different places and I bump into random actors as I walk around studio lots. But there’s a specific way that “Hollywood” (I put that in ” ” because H-wood is only a small part of the greater media making business but it’s just easier to call it one thing) operates and I’m looking forward to sneaking into that circle and figuring my way around. That being said, and I might rethink this after Monday when I start the internship but, this place isn’t as intimidating as I thought it would be. It’s actually kind of nice to see that nobody stands out here because there’s such a vast range of people. I don’t feel out of place or uncomfortable and try to remind myself to walk with confidence wherever I go. Of course, there are different neighborhoods that boast stereotypical people but, for the most part, it’s not as segmented as one might think. 

I’m currently dividing my time between my sister’s place in LA and my friend’s place in Chino. They’re about an hour apart so I try to plan my commutes wisely, spending days at a time in one place or the other. The only thing I knew about Chino before I got here was that Ryan from The OC was from here. Loved that show… Anyway, Chino is very quiet and small and there are a lot of horses here. Really, I’ll see random dudes on horses on the street. It caught me off guard the first couple of times but next time I see one, I won’t find it super weird (and I’ll try to take a not creepy picture).

Ok, I must take my leave now. I’m a different kind of busy here. The kind that doesn’t allow me to communicate as much as I would like–either because I’m not near my phone or because when I am near my phone, I’m so tired that I don’t really want to talk. I want to thank my other -arkies for their patience and for still messaging me anyway, even if I don’t respond. There are some other developments brewing in the next couple of days. I will let you know what they are when I find out what they are. Stay tuned…I’m pretty excited!

Love,
Markie

Enhanced by Zemanta
4 thoughts on “Today, I CAN’T BELIEVE IT’S BEEN A MONTH!

  1. Wowee so much in one post. First, happy one-month! It’s so crazy how the best things in life seem to come when we least expect it to.
    It’s great to hear your thoughts about LA & Chino (yes ! OC!) and always strut around with confidence! :) Love you and can’t wait to hear about the exciting developments!

  2. loved this 1-month recap!! :) not being an OC-viewer, I’ve had no reason to hear of Chino, but it sounds cool! this post will be good for your memoir one day.
    it’s wonderful to hear that you’re blending into the “h-wood” environment. i’m looking forward to you sneaking into that circle, too, so that you can sneak us in with you, of course :)
    INTERNSHIP!! “today, i got an AIM account with a boring screen name”

  3. Pingback: Today, I leave a kiss on post-it note… | todaycommai

  4. Pingback: Today, I make my own version of Salad Niçoise … | todaycommai

Leave a comment, tell us what you like, ask us a question! :) Thanks!

